April 25, 2018, 9:55 pm IST
News Updates

Nitish, Sushil Modi among seven file their nomination papers for Bihar Legislative Council

Nitish, Sushil Modi among seven file their nomination papers for Bihar Legislative Council

 Apr 16, 2018

Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, his deputy Sushil Kumar Modi were among seven candidates who filed their nomination papers today for biennial election to Bihar Legislative Council.

Mr Kumar, also the JD (U) president along with his party candidates Ramesh Mahto and Khalid Anwar filed their nomination papers before Bihar Legislative Assembly Secretary cum returning officer Ram Shreshth Rai.

From the BJP side, senior party leader and deputy chief minister Sushil Kumar Modi, health minister Mangal Pandey and former union minister Dr Sanjay Paswan filed their nomination papers.

Senior Congress leader Premchand Mishra also filed his papers for the state legislative council biennial election for the lone seat, his party is contesting. Earlier, RJD chief Lalu Prasad's wife and former chief minister Rabri Devi, state party president Ramchandra Purve and senior party leader Khurshid Mohsin, who was once Mr Prasad's gardener had filed their nomination papers on April 13.

Hindustani Awam Morcha's Santosh Manjhi, son of party chief and ex-chief minister Jitan Ram Manjhi had also filed his nomination papers same day. The HAM had recently joined the RJD-led grand alliance after deserting the NDA. (UNI)

More News

Pick of the Day

About us

In the surfeit of information that inundates us relentlessly, now (24 x 7 so to speak), it is difficult to separate the chaff from the grain. With so much chaff getting into the public domain, the real news happening on the ground becomes hard to make out. We are embarking on this portal in an effort to clarify things and provide focus on the real d ...

Read more


Enter email address to subscribe the newsletter

Copyright © 2017 PENNEWS. All Rights Reserved | Designed by : Tedsys