April 22, 2018, 8:13 am IST
News Updates

Nominations for May 12 election to the Karnataka Assembly opens tomorrow

Nominations for May 12 election to the Karnataka Assembly opens tomorrow

 Apr 16, 2018

Filing of nomination papers for the May 12 election to Karnataka Legislative Assembly begins tomorrow with respective District Electoral Officers issuing Notification inviting nominations for 224 seats.

Nominations will be received on all days from tomorrow (except Second Saturday, Sunday and public holidays) from 11 am to 5 pm, official sources said.

Ruling Congress, which is making a determined bid to retain the power, has released a list of 218 candidates and it has also drawn curtains to the speculation of Chief Minister Siddaramaiah contesting in two constituencies.

Without wasting time, Chief Minister, immediately after his name was cleared, began his campaigning from today at Chamundeshwari constituency in Mysuru District.

He had won from this constituency five times out of seven attempts he made and today he received a rousing a reception soon after his arrival to campaign with villagers giving him traditional welcome.

BJP and JDS are leaving no stones unturned to defeat him and the latter has pitted formidable opponent in G T Devegowda, while BJP is yet to announce its candidate.

BJP, which has determined to bounce back to power has come out with 'Vision 150' to secure 150 seats in the 224-member house and has released its first list of 72 candidates.

As witnessed in the earlier elections, the dissident activities have started. The major one being protest by sitting BJP MLA Thippeswamy who was denied ticket from Molakalmur and selecting MP and former Minister B Sriramulu, a close aide of Mining baron Gali Janardhan Reddy. After the mining scam and Reddy spending some time in jail, BJP has not only denied him a ticket but National President Amit Shah had announced that the party had distanced from him.

The rebellion in JD(S) was going on since last Rajya Sabha election as seven of its members violated whip and voted in favour of Congress candidate. All the seven MLAs were suspended from the party and a petition was filed with the Assembly Speaker K B Koliwad to disqualify them. However, the issue remained static and elections were announced.

All the seven suspended JD(S) MLAs joined Congress in the presence of AICC President Rahul Gandhi at Mysuru and all of them were given ticket in the list released last night. (UNI)

More News

Pick of the Day

About us

In the surfeit of information that inundates us relentlessly, now (24 x 7 so to speak), it is difficult to separate the chaff from the grain. With so much chaff getting into the public domain, the real news happening on the ground becomes hard to make out. We are embarking on this portal in an effort to clarify things and provide focus on the real d ...

Read more


Enter email address to subscribe the newsletter

Copyright © 2017 PENNEWS. All Rights Reserved | Designed by : Tedsys